Aftermarket Coolant Temperature Gauge - Ford B-Max Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 15:43 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 20
Aftermarket Coolant Temperature Gauge

Hi,

I'm just wondering if anyone may have fitted an Aftermarket Coolant Temperature Gauge to a 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine fitted to the Titanium Ford B-Max. If so I would be grateful for any advise/tips.
The 2012 B-max Titanium I bought earlier this year does not have a coolant gauge at all, not even the Bar-graph type. Having always been used to a Coolant Temperature Gauge, I would like to fit one to this car.
I know I can use the OBDII socket with a display but I prefer not to go down that route and would like a dedicated Coolant gauge so that I can see what is happening.
Any advise would be appreciated.
EASYDOZIT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 16:54
Senior Member
 
Wiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 168
No coolant gauge ?!
That's odd !
Mine has the bar graph type in the centre of the Dsch speedo and rev counter.
2015 eco boost 1.0L

1 litre Zetec Turbo petrol 74Kw / 100 Ps. as in my avatar.
Wiggy is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 17:56
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Torfaen
Posts: 683
They all have them surely ??

John

Titanium X Tectonic Silver 1.0 125ps Eco.
Hywel S Wales is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 17:57
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Torfaen
Posts: 683
See this previous post -

https://www.bmaxownersclub.co.uk/for...ure-gauge.html

John

Titanium X Tectonic Silver 1.0 125ps Eco.
Hywel S Wales is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 18:34 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggy View Post
No coolant gauge ?!
That's odd !
Mine has the bar graph type in the centre of the Dsch speedo and rev counter.
2015 eco boost 1.0L
Thanks for the reply,

I assure you mine does not have it. Mine is a 62 plate and I have read others that have said the same on both the B-Max and the Fiesta. Apparently some Ford dealers do not Know why they were not fitted on some.

That leaves me still seeking advise about fitting an aftermarket gauge and sensor.
EASYDOZIT is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 18:35 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hywel S Wales View Post
They all have them surely ??
Thanks for the reply,

I assure you mine does not have it. Mine is a 62 plate and I have read others that have said the same on both the B-Max and the Fiesta. Apparently some Ford dealers do not Know why they were not fitted on some.

That leaves me still seeking advise about fitting an aftermarket gauge and sensor.
EASYDOZIT is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 19:19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 383
I have seen several reports of this, but not seen it myself,
could you please take a pic of the dash while the engine is running to show us the fault.

as for fitting an aftermarket one, you already said you could do it via obd, and that would be the quickest and simplest way to do it.
Gremlin is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th December 2020, 19:44
Senior Member
 
Wiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 168
It should look like this ---


1 litre Zetec Turbo petrol 74Kw / 100 Ps. as in my avatar.
Wiggy is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 27th December 2020, 14:15 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gremlin View Post
I have seen several reports of this, but not seen it myself,
could you please take a pic of the dash while the engine is running to show us the fault.

as for fitting an aftermarket one, you already said you could do it via obd, and that would be the quickest and simplest way to do it.
Thanks for the reply,

As you requested I am attaching a photo, as you can see it does not have the Bar-Graph display.
I believe it may only affect certain versions possibly some 2012 models.

I know I could display the water temperature via the OBDII socket but I prefer not to use that method as a permanent check.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5029.jpg (223.5 KB, 13 views)

Last edited by EASYDOZIT; 27th December 2020 at 14:21.
EASYDOZIT is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 27th December 2020, 14:24 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggy View Post
It should look like this ---

Thanks again,

I have seen a similar display on my friends 2016 Ford Fiesta, but I have also read about there being Fiesta's not fitted with that display.
I believe it may only affect certain versions possibly some 2012 models.

I am attaching a photo of my display.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5029.jpg (223.5 KB, 7 views)
EASYDOZIT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford B-Max Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome