Is it possible to over pressurise the air con ? - Ford B-Max Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2019, 00:30 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Mark Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 20
Question Is it possible to over pressurise the air con ?

Is it possible to over fill/over pressurise the air con and break anything?

Air con hasn't been that cold for a while, so booked it in to a Halfords store for a free safety check and top up.

Ran the engine for three minutes and then chap put the gauge on - and it showed in the middle of the green. I said that it wasn't blowing cold like it was last year, and he said it needs some gas. He had already confirmed that the compressor was working. I leave the air con switched on because the electromagnetic clutch can stick if left turned off for too long.

So he attaches the first bottle, squeezes the trigger and nothing changes. Then I can smell the gas as he swaps bottles, but again nothing is going in. He swapped bottles three times, and I smelt the gas every time. He's turning the bottle upside down and trying to get something to happen, but the air coming out of the vents is still the same cool and not cold. There was no charge because he couldn't improve the coldness.

Driving home and there was an almighty crack that I think came from the dashboard, but sounded like a large stone hitting the windscreen. And then I could smell gas for a while, and had to open the window.
Checked windscreen and no chip.

I've emailed Halfords to advise of the situation because traffic was too bad to drive back again.

I need to run the car again tomorrow and see how the coldness compares. But wondered if anyone else has had a problem with the system breaking behind the dash?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stp-aircon.jpg (107.0 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg stp-aircon-2.jpg (139.0 KB, 2 views)

2012 B-Max 1.5 TDCI Zetec
Mark Ellis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2019, 11:15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Torfaen
Posts: 543
lots of info here -
https://www.google.com/search?q=car+...hrome&ie=UTF-8

John

Titanium X Tectonic Silver 1.0 125ps Eco.
Hywel S Wales is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2019, 16:25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 259
I hope you get it fixed OK.

This is one of the reasons I wouldn't take any car of mine into Halfords.
Hadrian1 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 23rd June 2019, 13:46 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Mark Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 20
Took it for a short drive this morning. Blower is pushing out cold but not ice cold air, so I guess there must be some refrigerant still in there. I'm presuming that if something was cracked then all the gas would be gone by now.
No email response from Halfords yet, and will be going back to the store on Monday

2012 B-Max 1.5 TDCI Zetec
Mark Ellis is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 6th July 2019, 14:12 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Mark Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 20
So just an update on this to conclude the tale.

Went back to Halfords store and their gauge showed that it was still pressurised and didn't need topping up.
They did however suggest an independent air con specialist.

Booked it in with Cool It Automotives at Martinstown, Dorset. He put the proper multi pipe gauges on and it showed low, so drained, filled with air and then recharged coolant - all for £50.
He thought that Halfords gauge probably showed OK as it was a hot day, so all the pipework would be hot under pressure when they should be cold.

And now it all works fine, and the keys are freezing when I remove them from the ignition.

So the lesson is, go to an independent specialists first and avoid Halfords

2012 B-Max 1.5 TDCI Zetec
Mark Ellis is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12th July 2019, 13:59
Stu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
I would not let Halfords fix a push bike let alone a car. There people are not trained mechanics and should not be let loose on any car. They wrecked the trim on my car trying to fit a radio. Halfords had to pay for all the surrounding trim to be replaced. Cost them hundreds including having my radio fitted by proper mechanic.

Stu
Stu is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford B-Max Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome