Clutch heating up. - Ford B-Max Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 16th May 2019, 10:32 Thread Starter

Clutch heating up.

Hello BMax people.
I have owned a 2015 BMax with manual gear change for almost one year. Twice in that year the gears have suddenly jammed while I was driving. I just could not change gear. I waited for the breakdown person the last time it happened. By the time he arrived the gears had become free. He suggested that I was causing the clutch to heat up by some driver error,eg, not removing my foot completely from the pedal, and the clutch was overheating. I have been driving cars, mainly Fords, for 40 years and have not had this problem before.
The Ford dealer has said that they will strip down the clutch and if a part is broken they will replace it at no cost to me, but if there is wear on the clutch I will pay. The clutch is 4 years old, though the car has only 12000 miles on the clock. Is it not reasonable to expect some wear? The clutch is not slipping or showing signs of judder. Have there been any other problems with the BMax manual gears and clutch. I don't know where to go from here. I have only about two weeks left on the warranty.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 16th May 2019, 11:50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noddy View Post
Hello BMax people.
I have owned a 2015 BMax with manual gear change for almost one year. Twice in that year the gears have suddenly jammed while I was driving. I just could not change gear. .
I would have thought the first course of action would be to drain the oil and check for debris with a magnet.
Other than that it could be a number of things.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 16th May 2019, 16:46 Thread Starter

Thank you. That is well out of my comfort zone. I expect that is the kind of thing the Ford garage would do.
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 16th May 2019, 19:36