SYNC behaving erratically - THE FIX - Ford B-Max Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 25th February 2017, 13:00 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 12
Thought I'd share this with the group. My SYNC was behaving oddly in my 64 plate BMax. The phone button on the steering wheel stopped working and the phone menu just kept scrolling repeatedly. Also, when trying to skip tracks on Spotify, the tracks would just jump and cut out.
Here's the solution:

Remove fuse 24 from the glovebox fuse box. Start the car for 3 minutes.
Stop the car.
Install fuse.
Start the car.
Wait 3 minutes for SYNC to reinitialise.

Voila! You're back in SYNC!

Hope this helps someone.Edited by: Kimdurose
Kimdurose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 25th February 2017, 13:25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Torfaen
Posts: 543
Brilliant- amazed how you figured that out. Well done !

John

Titanium X Tectonic Silver 1.0 125ps Eco.
Hywel S Wales is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 25th February 2017, 16:31 Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 12
I cant take credit for it. I found it on a Focus users forum and it worked on my BMax so I thought I would share.
Kimdurose is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 25th February 2017, 20:27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Bristol
Posts: 947
If I had this problem, I would first try a reset in the information display.

If that didn't work, I would try the solution you suggest.

I had a couple of issues with my mk7 Fiesta, and a system reset solved them on both occasions.

Thanks for the info.

B Max Titanium X 1.0 125 bhp in Magnetic with built in SatNav and rear sensors.
cianpars is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 5th April 2017, 18:32
Senior Member
 
vdragoslav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 211
Trying to use SYNC at full capacity according to my needs and noticing that SYNC sees no app on the phone, I reset it.Now B-MAX asks for SYNC file. What is it; how come it's been deleted during the reset?..? :-?
What's the solution; where should I take this file, please!?..


P. s. I read everything SYNC related on this forum; it seems to me (as well) that apart the "basic" features (as hands-free calling and commanding the playing of audio files from the USB connected memory) SYNC is unable to do what is supposed to!.. X( Is it right? Should I complain to the dealer or it is something advertised but not supposed to work? :-?

No more waiting for B-MAX TITANIUM with TITANIUM pack (no \"Follow me home\" ), 1.5 TDCi 95 Frozen white, Driver pack 2, Winter pack and panoramic roof built on 14th of February: I have it! :>
vdragoslav is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 5th April 2017, 18:44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Bristol
Posts: 947
SYNC worked well for me for 5 years on my Fiesta, though I did have to reset it twice during that time. No problems with SYNC yet on the B Max.

I use voice conteols for the phone always and occasionally for the radio and USB stick. I never use CD at all.

When it says SYNC file, I think it is asking you to sync an app on your phone. Be aware that there are only 5 or 6 apps which will sync with the Ford system, though I did find a weather app synched, much to my surprise.

The only apps worth syncing are the Ford app and maybe spotify if you have unlimited data on your phone. If I rwmember correctly, there was also a mapping app that would sync.

I just dont use any apps that sync as that aspect of the system is atill in development and seems of litrle use.

Edited by: cianpars

B Max Titanium X 1.0 125 bhp in Magnetic with built in SatNav and rear sensors.
cianpars is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 17th April 2017, 16:48
Ant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 98
The SYNC app is basic and a decent colour screen with some sort of Apple or Android Auto would be so much better.
Ant is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 21st June 2019, 11:04
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Blimey this does work! I had very similar symptoms after taking the console apart as the module inside with all the buttons on had broken away at the top and was only held on at the bottom edge so it swayed in the breeze. I undestand how taking the fuse out and putting it back again might work (a hard off and on again) but I did need the run the car for three mins to make it work. Why's that!!!

Sync successfully rebooted, reset with extreme prejudice. In the faulty state I couldn't even get to the soft reset option!
RichardJ is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 21st July 2019, 09:56
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Sync fix no go!

this sync fix didnít work on my B-Max

Any one got any other suggestions?
jcbates is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford B-Max Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome